« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Balmoral, Maywood load up Nov. with stakes

January 14, 2013
HOME PRINT

« Return to News
The 2013 stake schedules for both Balmoral and Maywood Parkhave been released by racing secretary Doc Narotsky. The action kicks off at Balmoral on March 30 with the Taurus Bomber Stake for Illinois conceived and foaled three-year-old pacing colts. Maywood's stake season gets underway on Friday, April 12, with sophomore pacing colts slugging it out in the Sportsmaster Stake.
 
The first "major” state-bred stake of the season will be contested on Sunday, May 19, with three-year-old pacing fillies squaring off in the $45,000 Violet Stake at Balmoral. There will also be Violet and Cardinal Stakes for Illinois conceived and foaled pacers and trotters on Sunday, May 26, Wednesday, May 29, and Saturday, June 1 at Balmoral Park.
 
Maywood's first big event of the season will be the $100,000 Filly Maywood Pace for ICF three-year-old fillies on Friday, June 14.The $100,000 Maywood Pace for ICF sophomore pacing colts will be held the following Friday, June 21.
 
The first Hanover Stakes of the season at Balmoral Park will feature a trio of events for three-year-old trotters and three-year-old filly pacers on Saturday, July 13.
 
The Southland Festival of Racing will provide plenty of state-bred action at Balmoral on Saturday, July 27, Sunday, July 28 and Wednesday, July31, with pacers and trotters squaring off in $50,000 battles like the Mini Me Stake, Loyal Opposition Stake, Incredible Finale Stake, Ann Vonian Stake, Kadabra Stake, Fox Valley Evita Stake, Fox Valley Flan Stake and Plesac Stake.
 
A pair of $50,000 Hanover's for two-year-old colt and filly pacers are scheduled for Saturday, August 3,at the Crete oval. Balmoral will also play host to Illinois' biggest night of racing, Super Night, on Saturday, Sept. 14. As always, the state's top pacers and trotters will be on display as they battle for more than $1 million in purse money.
 
The prestigious American National's kick off on Wednesday, Sept. 18, with a pair of $90,000 trotting stakes for two-year-olds.
 
October promises to be a busy month for the youngsters as the $100,000 Lady Lincoln Stake for two-year-old trotting fillies takes place on Wednesday, Oct. 2, while their male counterparts battle in the $100,000 in the Lincoln Land Stake on Sunday, Oct. 6, at Balmoral Park. Maywood will also host the $60,000 Cardinal and Violet Stakes for two-year-old colt and filly pacers on Friday, Oct. 4. A pair of $60,000 Hanover's for two-year-old trotters are also slated for Sunday, Oct. 13, at Balmoral.
 
If last year was any indication of things to come then racing fans throughout the country will want to circle Saturday, Nov. 9, and Friday, Nov. 15, on their calendars as some of North America's finest pacers and trotters are expected to visit the Chicago circuit as Grand Circuit action comes to town. Balmoral Park will play host to the $250,000 three-year-old colt pace, $225,00 American National three-year-old colt trot, $200,000 American National Aged Pace, $180,000 aged trot, $175,000 three-year-old filly pace, $150,000 three-year-old filly trot, $125,000 two-year-old colt pace and $125,000 two-year-old filly pace on Saturday, Nov. 9.
 
Maywood's biggest card of the season is just six days later on Friday, Nov. 15, with the $225,000 Windy City Pace for three-year-old pacing colts, the $130,000 Abe Lincoln Stake for two-year-old pacing colts, the $120,00 Galt Trot for three-year-old trotting colts and the $100,000 Cinderella Stake for three-year-old pacing fillies sharing the spotlight. The $30,000 Associates-McKeever Stake for ICF pacers is also scheduled for that same night. (Balmoral/Maywood)
« Return to News