« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Classic Series to Big M

November 15, 2006

« Return to News
The Classic Series (TCS) moves to New Jersey for the third and last preliminary leg of the 2006 Series on Saturday, with the four $85,000 divisions of the Series helping to kick off the fall meet at the Meadowlands.

Three of the divisions have had repeat winners in each of the first two legs and those horses will be competing again on Saturday.

Casimir Camotion has been in raging form thus far in the Pacing Classic, winning leg one at Woodbine in 1:49.2 and setting a new world record of 1:48.3 in the second leg at Dover Downs for owner M & M Harness Racing and trainer Bruce Saunders. Meadowlands leading driver Brian Sears will again be at the controls Saturday.

Glowing Report has brought the Classic Distaff trophy home to her owner Marvin Rounick at both Woodbine and Dover and she equaled the world record for her division in her 1:50.2 score at Dover. Jerry Silverman trains and David Miller drives the career winner of nearly $2 million.

Mystical Sunshine has taken both legs of the Classic Oaks for her owners Alvin Jacobson and Sid Korn and trainer Chris Ryder. She will face champion mare Peaceful Way, who broke stride in the Woodbine leg and did not compete at Dover, on Saturday. Ron Pierce is the regular pilot for Mystical Sunshine.

The Trotting Classic at Dover was won, in upset fashion, by Sir Perseverance in a world record 1:52.4. His driver George Brennan cleverly sat off torrid fractions and directed his charge to a late rally for the win. Sir Perseverance is owned by the partnership of Katz, Libfeld and Goldband and trained by Richard Norman. He’ll face a rugged bunch including Sand Vic, Vivid Photo and Mr. Muscleman again Saturday.

TCS offers a $10,000 Trainer Bonus to the trainer compiling the highest point total as calculated by TCS throughout the entire Series. To this point, Saunders, Silverman and Ryder are tied at the top with Norman stalking for the prize.

The four $250,000 Classic finals will be held on Monday, Nov. 27, at Dover Downs where the top eight point earners will race over the route distance of a mile and a quarter to determine a champion for each division. (TCS)
« Return to News