« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Dayton to host 4 $50,000 Ohio Sires Finals

October 17, 2015

« Return to News
The fields are set for a quartet of $50,000 Ohio Sires Stakes championship races for older horses on Friday (October 23) and Saturday (October 24) at Hollywood Dayton Raceway.

The Buckeye state's best active mares ages four and up, divided into championship tilts for both trotters and pacers, will compete Friday night. Their male counterparts will take center stage on Saturday night in their $50,000 splits.

Three defending older Ohio Sires Stakes champions will return to defend their state titles. Nine Ohio-sired trotting mares dropped into the box including defending champion Victory Is Coming. The other divisional contenders, in alphabetical order, will be Beauty Chip, Emilene's Future, Jesse's Messenger, Miss Lulu Belle, Rose Run Nellie, Sandy's Victory, Tesla and Turbochargedroxie. 2014 winner Igottafeelinfran will be the likely favorite in the mares pace.

Others who entered the fray are Hannah Forever, Lady Julie, Let'sgoalltheway, Shakin Friskie, Threefold Breanna and Two Friskie. With defending male trot champion Final Breath sidelined by an injury this summer, the male squaregaiters race looks like a wide open affair. The seven contestants on Saturday will be Can'tcutthatchip, Cody Coy, Count Full Mac, J J Hall, Lady's Dude, Rompaway Galaxy and Soul Train.

Defending champion Dancin Yankee will defend his state championship in the final division for older pacing horses and geldings. He'll be tested by Chance I Might, Feel The Heat, Feelin Lika Winner, J's Six Pak Attack, Man He Can Skoot and Outdoor Fever.

Trainers are reminded that all horses in each of these four $50,000 Ohio Sires Stakes championship races are required to arrive in their assigned Hollywood Dayton Raceway paddock detention stalls at least six hours prior to the advertised post time of their race. Post positions for the two Friday night mares finals will be drawn Monday afternoon at 5 p.m. The post position draw for the pair of Saturday male championships will take place on Wednesday at 5 p.m.
« Return to News