« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Dec. 21 deadline for Caretaker of the Year nominations

December 16, 2020

« Return to News
The deadline for nominations for the 2020 Caretaker of the Year, sponsored by Art Zubrod and Leah Cheverie’s Fair Island Farm in conjunction with the United States Harness Writers Association (USHWA), is nearing on Monday, Dec. 21, 2020. The Fair Island Farm Caretaker of the Year Award recognizes the unsung heroes of the sport—the caretakers who maintain the health and welfare of the horses on a daily basis.
Any caretaker working for any stable or farm in North America is eligible to be the Fair Island Farm Caretaker of the Year. All that is needed to nominate is a letter or email, 200 words minimum, from an individual or group detailing the skills and special qualities of the caretaker.
“Leah and I were very honored to continue the tradition of recognizing the outstanding caretaker of the year last year and we look forward to again rewarding an exceptional individual this year,” said Zubrod. “While the racing season may have been altered a bit with the covid-19 pandemic, caretakers continued to work as hard as ever. A caretaker’s work is important to the success of not only the horse, but the entire stable.”
The Fair Island Farm 2020 Caretaker of the Year will receive a cash prize of $500 and a trophy that will include a photo of the winning caretaker and a favorite horse.
“In 2020, caretakers have had to endure and persevere in spite of the overwhelming obstacles associated with the pandemic,” said USHWA president Kim Rinker. “These folks are the backbone of our industry and have seen to it that racing has continued to not only survive, but thrive, in these troubled times. This award is a shout-out to grooms across North America and beyond who dutifully care for their equine athletes.”
All nomination letters and emails must be received and/or postmarked by Monday, Dec. 21, 2020, and sent to committee chairman Tim Bojarski at a159star@gmail.com or mailed to Tim Bojarski, 7523 Maple Road, Akron, N.Y. 14001. With the deadline near, it is recommended to email all nomination letters at this point.
The winner will be chosen by a seven-person selection committee comprised of USHWA members, all of whom are former caretakers: Tim Bojarski (chair), Tom Charters, Moira Fanning, Dean Hoffman, Rob Pennington, Kim Rinker and Shawn Wiles.
« Return to News