« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Fields set for older set

August 31, 2005

« Return to News
Trotters Peaceful Way and Mr. Muscleman were joined by pacers Boulder Creek and Burning Point as morning-line favorites for Saturday night's Breeders Crown races at Mohawk Racetrack.

Peaceful Way, currently the top-ranked Standardbred in the Hambletonian Society/Breeders Crown poll, drew post two and was made the 3-5 favorite in the Breeders Crown Mare Trot.

Trained by Dave Tingley and driven by Trevor Ritchie, Peaceful Way has won all six of her starts this year, including the Armbro Flight and Classic Oaks, and has a nine-race win streak dating back to last October's Breeders Crown. Peaceful Way, who equaled the world record of 1:51.4 for female trotters in July, went offstride in last year's Breeders Crown for 3-year-old filly trotters, which was won by Housethatruthbuilt. Lifetime, Peaceful Way has won 25 of 31 starts and $1.7 million.

"We're going into this race fresh and confident," trainer Dave Tingley said. "She hasn't raced since the Classic final, but she qualified in 1:54 with a last quarter in :27, just as effortless as could be. Hopefully, it all works out for us this time."

Housethatruthbuilt, starting from post seven, was made the 5-2 second choice while Windylane Hanover, who drew the rail, was third at 8-1. Peaceful Way has won two O'Brien Awards as Canada's top filly trotter while Housethatruthbuilt earned the Dan Patch Award for divisional honors in the U.S. last year. Windylane Hanover was the top trotting mare in 2003.

Mr. Muscleman drew post six and was made the 2-5 favorite in a field of seven. Muscles Marinara, from post two, and Hellava Hush, from post five, were both 5-1. Mr. Muscleman, trained by Noel Daley but looked after in Canada by Mike Vanderkemp, and driven by Ron Pierce, will be hoping to win his second Breeders Crown title--he won the Crown for 3 year olds in 2003. He has won 10 of 12 starts and $578,450 this season. Lifetime, he has won 30 of 54 and $2.4 million.

Boulder Creek, looking to win a second consecutive Breeders Crown championship, was made the 2-1 favorite in the Open Pace. The Open Pace was the only race that needed eliminations, with Boulder Creek and Town Champion posting victories. The winners got to select post positions, and the connections of Boulder Creek, chosen by lot to pick first, took post four while the connections of Town Champion selected post five.

"Brian (Sears) wanted to be able to get away," Boulder Creek's trainer Mark Silva said of the post choice. "Posts one and two here tend to get batted back--even post three a little bit. If they had picked first and taken post four, we would have taken post five. We wanted somewhere in the middle. We want to be able to go from the gate."

Haughton Memorial winner Dr. No, who was fourth in his elim, was made the 4-1 second choice in the Open Pace final and will start from post seven for driver Cat Manzi and trainer Bill Elliott. Town Champion, trained by Seldon Ledford and driven by his son, Eric, was 9-2.

Burning Point, the winner of the Breeders Crown for 3-year-old fillies in 2003, was made 5-2 for Saturday's Open Mare Pace, which drew a field of 11. She will start from post three for driver Kevin Wallis and trainer Steve Elliott. Wallis was Burning Point's regular driver in 2003, when his wife, Linda, became just the second female trainer to claim a Crown title. Burning Point has won the Lady Liberty, Classic Distaff and Golden Girls this year.

"It sure is a pleasure to be back driving her," Kevin Wallis said. "She is real good, just like her old self. She's one of those warhorses that just thrives on racing and work. She's as good now as she's ever been in her career."

Carolina Sunshine, who will start from post five, was the 4-1 second choice. Glowing Report and Invitro were 9-2 while Loyal Opposition was 5-1. Loyal Opposition is the defending Dan Patch Award winner for best pacing mare.

C $302,500 (US $250,000) BREEDERS CROWN MARE TROT


Post Position/Horse/Driver/Trainer (Odds)

1. Windylane Hanover-John Campbell/Brett Bittle (8-1)

2. Peaceful Way-Trevor Ritchie/Dave Tingley (3-5)

3. Ecstatic-Luc Ouellette/Paul Buer (15-1)

4. Southwind Sasha-Randy Waples/Joe Stutzman (20-1)

5. Snazzy Millie-Mark MacDonald/Paul Skjaker (15-1)

6. Bramasole-Eric Ledford/Seldon Ledford (20-1)

7. Housethatruthbuilt-Brian Sears/Trond Smedshammer (5-2)

8. Silver Springs-David Miller/Jan Johnson (20-1)

9. Mystical Sunshine-Ron Pierce/Chris Ryder (15-1)

C $401,115 (US $331,500) BREEDERS CROWN MARE PACE


Post Position/Horse/Driver/Trainer (Odds)

1. Hanover Chance N-Luc Ouellette/Kevin McDermott (25-1)

2. Artbitration-Steve Condren/Norm Parker (20-1)

3. Burning Point-Kevin Wallis/Steve Elliott (5-2)

4. Odds On Charmaine-Chris Christoforou/Robin Schadt (25-1)

5. Carolina Sunshine-Brian Sears/Darren McCall (4-1)

6. Glowing Report-David Miller/Jerry Silverman (9-2)

7. Loyal Opposition-George Brennan/Erv Miller (5-1)

8. Invitro-Paul MacDonell/Gord Irwin (9-2)

9. Apple Krisp-Eric Ledford/Kevin McDermott (20-1)

10. L Dees Val-John Campbell/Mark Capone (15-1)

11. Please Me Please-Jack Moiseyev/Bob McIntosh (20-1)

C $713,900 (US $590,000) BREEDERS CROWN PACE


Post Position/Horse/Driver/Trainer (Odds)

1. Quality Western-Jody Jamieson/Blair Burgess (15-1)

2. Georgia Pacific-Luc Ouellette/Randy Bendis (15-1)

3. Eaton Road Kill-Daniel Dube/Mark Harder (15-1)

4. Boulder Creek-Brian Sears/Mark Silva (2-1)

5. Town Champion-Eric Ledford/Seldon Ledford (9-2)

6. Mypanmar-John Campbell/Virgil Morgan, Jr. (20-1)

7. Dr No-Cat Manzi/William Elliott (4-1)

8. Holborn Hanover-George Brennan/Mark Harder (5-1)

9. Ponder-Jack Moiseyev/Bob McIntosh (6-1)

10. Timesareachanging-Ron Pierce/Brett Pelling (15-1)

C $968,000 (US $800,000) BREEDERS CROWN TROT


Post Position/Horse/Driver/Trainer (Odds)

1. Coventry-Doug Ackerman/D.R. Ackerman (25-1)

2. Muscles Marinara-Luc Ouellette/Richard Banca (5-1)

3. Cincinnati Kid-Trevor Ritchie/Harald Lunde (20-1)

4. Sand Vic-Brian Sears/Trond Smedshammer (6-1)

5. Hellava Hush-Cat Manzi/William Gallagher (5-1)

6. Mr. Muscleman-Ron Pierce/Noel Daley-Mike Vanderkemp (2-5)

7. Elegant Man-George Brennan/Bob Bencal (25-1)

« Return to News