« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Foiled Again wins 4-horse Kane at Batavia

October 05, 2013

« Return to News
Foiled Again, harness racing's richest pacer, and driver Brett Miller captured the $50,000 Robert J. Kane Memorial Invitational on Saturday night's card at Batavia Downs.
Amidst a compact field of four after three horses were scratched from the evening's seventh race feature, Foiled Again worked his way to the lead over Heston Blue Chip and Chris Page during the opening quarter. The 2-5 favorite then cruised through panels of :27, :56.1 and 1:24.3 en route to the 1:52 triumph with Heston Blue Chip following one length behind in the passing lane. Rounding out the field over nine lengths behind were the Michael Caprio-driven Fireyourguns and Sportsman, with John Cummings Jr. in the bike.
Trained by Ron Burke, Foiled Again, a 9-year-old gelding, is now a two-time winner of the Kane Memorial, having also won the event in 2009 with Matt Kakaley driving in a time of 1:52.3.

His victory in the 2013 edition came within four-fifths of a second of the all-age track record, which was established by 2011 Kane Memorial champion Aracache Hanover.

Burke Racing Stable LLC, Weaver Bruscemi LLC and JJK Stables LLC own Foiled Again, who posted his seventh win in 23 starts this year and 72nd lifetime.

« Return to News