« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Gallo Blue Chip, Eternal Camnation to Hall of Fame

January 05, 2011

« Return to News
Stanley Bergstein, chairman of the Living Horse Hall of Fame nominating committee of The Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame, has announced the results of recent balloting that determined the 2011 class for induction into the The Harness Racing Living Horse Hall of Fame. Annual members (in good standing) voted for the two horses they felt exemplified greatness. Their choices are racehorse Gallo Blue Chip, who received 34 percent of the vote, and racehorse Eternal Camnation, who received 20 percent of the votes cast.
The other nominees were Rainbow Blue (who received 17 percent of the votes), Garland Lobell (15 percent) and Real Desire (11 percent).
Gallo Blue Chip and Eternal Camnation will be inducted on Hall of Fame Day, Sunday, July 3.  The ceremonies for these two extraordinary Standardbred racehorses will take place during The Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame’s annual dinner. For information on the Hall of Fame weekend and other festivities surrounding this important occasion visit www.harnessmuseum.com from April 2010 onward or call or write the Museum at 240 Main Street, Goshen, NY 10924. Phone: 845.294.6330.

Standardbreds are only eligible for nomination to harness racing’s highest accolade if they comply with the following strict criteria:

They must be retired from racing for five years and had a drug-free career. In addition, racehorses must have won 75 percent of their lifetime starts, or gone undefeated in a single season campaign of 12 or more races, or been the winner of $3 million lifetime or named Harness Horse of the Year (US and/or Canada). 

Stallions must rank among the 10 all-time leading money-winning sires at their gait or have sired at least 100 $200,000 winners or been a leading money-winning sire at his gait in three or more seasons. 

NOTE: BROODMARES are automatically elected if they have produced a $1 million winner and two other winners of $500,000 OR produced a Harness Horse of the Year (US and/or Canada) and another $500,000 winner.

(Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame)
« Return to News