« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Gerry Bookmyer elected to Ohio Hall of Fame

January 09, 2020

« Return to News

Gerald Bookmyer, one of the most talented drivers to ever hail from Ohio, has been elected as the 46thmember of the Ohio Harness Racing Hall of Fame. He was elected by a vote of the members of the Ohio Chapter of the United States Harness Writers Association.

Known as “Bookie,” Bookmyer enjoyed success with for many years.  He was such a dominant force in the sulky that Northfield Park was often referred to as “The house that Bookmyer built” in the Cleveland Plain Dealer.

Bookmyer was the nine-time leading driver over Northfield’s ‘Flying Turns’ (1964-1968, 1979-1981 and 1987).  However, his success did not end in Cleveland.  He has a flock of Windsor Raceway championships, as well as being a chart-topper at Raceway Park, Wolverine Raceway and Scioto Downs. 

Bookmyer, 78, is synonymous with notable horses such as Adios Skipper, Bench Mark, Durango Kid, Hambooger, Kissing Almahurst, Spastic, Set The Trap, Silent Syd and Waycount Hanover.  

According to official records of the United States Trotting Association Bookmyer drove 3,316 winners with earnings over $8.4 million.  Included in his win tally are five Ohio Sires Stakes Championships with Beacon-Star (1990), Set The Trap (1986), Good Motor (1978), Hambooger (1984) and It’s A Date (1985).

Bookmyer will be honored at the Ohio Harness Horsemen’s Association banquet on Saturday, Jan. 18, in Columbus. (Ohio USHWA)

« Return to News