« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Hoosier drivers compete for Hawaiian vacation

October 15, 2015

« Return to News
The top 10 drivers at Hoosier Park Racing & Casino will take center stage on Saturday as they compete in a five-race challenge in the second and final round of the 2015 Champion Driver Series. The first of its kind, the 2015 Champion Driver Series will pit the top 10 drivers at Hoosier Park Racing & Casino against one another competing for the ultimate prize, a Hawaiian vacation for four.
Eight of the 10 coveted spots in the second round of the series were based upon points earned in the first round of the challenge that was held at Hoosier Park on Saturday, July 25. With a total of 39 points, Trace Tetrick was crowned the winner and walked away with his share of the $5,000 prize after the opening round. However, Tetrick will not be able to compete in the second round of competition as he is the regular pilot of the ultra-talented Indiana Sires Stakes champion Freaky Feet Pete who will be in Canada competing in the Breeders Crown Elimination on Saturday. In addition, driver Peter Wrenn will be unable to make the final round of the challenge.
With their points from the first challenge carrying over to the final challenge, Tyler Smith will lead the top eight finishers from round one into round two followed closely by Sam Widger and LeWayne Miller. Andy Shetler and Dan Shetler will round out the final two positions as determined by the official Hoosier Park standings at the conclusion of the live racing card that was held on Saturday, Oct. 10.
The drivers, listed by position in the leading driver standings are as follows: Tyler Smith, LeWayne Miller, Ricky Macomber Jr., John DeLong, Sam Widger, Ross Leonard, Jason Dillander, Rick Plano, Andy Shetler and Dan Shetler Jr.
In each of the challenges, the drivers will be picking the horses they will drive via a draft system for all five of the races in the challenge at a community luncheon held at Hoosier Park on Thursday, Oct. 15. In the first race of the challenge, the top driver, Tyler Smith, will get first pick of the horse he wants to drive. Next the No. 2 driver, LeWayne Miller, will pick and then continue through all 10 drivers.

For the second race of the challenge, the selection order will be inverted and the No. 10 driver, Dan Shetler, will pick first. This drafting system will continue through all five races of the challenge. Points will be awarded in each of the five races ranging from 15 points for the winners down to 1 point for the 10th-place finisher.

The challenge races will be five consecutive races and compliment the 14-race card slated for Saturday, Oct. 17. After the dust settles and the points have been tallied from each of the five races, one driver will be awarded a Hawaiian vacation for four, a prize valued at $15,000.
As an added bonus, racing fans will also have an opportunity to win big as part of the 2015 Champion Driver Series with $10,000 up for grabs. Guests can enter at any rewards kiosk at Hoosier Park from 10 a.m. to 9:59 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 17 to enter the contest. At approximately 10:15 p.m., 20 winners will be drawn to win a share of the $10,000 prize. (Hoosier Park)
« Return to News