« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Horse of the Year to be named Sunday

January 26, 2008

« Return to News
The United States Harness Writers Association (USHWA) will hold its 61st annual Night of Champions awards - dinner gala at Dover Downs Hotel Sunday night, where the 2007 Horse of the Year, Trotter of the Year and Pacer of the Year will be revealed.

For the second time in its history, the event, hosted by the Delaware Valley USHWA chapter, will honor the outstanding performers of the 2007 racing season.

Annually the U.S. Harness Writers Association honors the outstanding performers of the Standardbred season. Following balloting by USHWA members, the sports top honors are presented at its awards-dinner. They include the prestigious Dan Patch awards including the E. Roland Harriman Horse of the Year, Pacer of the Year and Trotter of the Year awards. In addition, the Dan Patch Award for each two-, three- and older division winning male and female trotters and pacers will be presented.

Other distinguished honors presented at the event include the Proximity; Norman Woolworth Owner of the Year; the Rising Star; Glen Garnsey Trainer of the Year; the Driver of the Year; W.R. Haughton Good Guy; Leeanne Pooler Unsung Hero, the Breakthrough; and the Pacing and the Trotting Broodmare of the Year and the President\'s awards.

In addition, the 2008 inductees to the Hall of Fame, Lou Guida, Chuck Coon, and writers Alan Prince and Murray Janoff will be introduced and the John Hervey awards for Newspaper, Magazine, and Broadcast categories will be presented.  

The biggest night in harness racing begins with a cocktail hour at 6 p.m. followed by an elegant dinner prepared by the award-winning Dover Downs culinary staff. Entertainment featuring the popular Clarence Smith and On The Edge will follow the presentation of awards. (Dover Downs)

« Return to News