« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Judges announced for Stanley Bergstein Writing Award

February 24, 2012

« Return to News
Frank Deford, Bill Nack, Bill Christine and Richard Eng will serve as judges for Team Valor International's inaugural Stanley Bergstein Writing Award.
Barry Irwin, founder and chief executive officer of Team Valor International, instituted the award last fall to foster the type of writing Bergstein embodied as an influential scribe on important issues in horse racing. A columnist for Daily Racing Form and many harness racing publications, Bergstein died in November at age 87.
The inaugural award will go to the writer of a racing-related story published in North America between Nov. 1, 2011 and Nov. 1, 2012. The prize from Team Valor is $25,000.
Deford, a member of the National Association of Sportscasters and Sportswriters Hall of Fame, has written with great distinction for Sports Illustrated since 1962. In covering Thoroughbred racing for the magazine, he garnered Eclipse Awards in 1975 and 1984. Deford is a weekly commentator for NPR, a senior correspondent for HBO Real Sports, and is the author of 16 books. He and Red Smith are the only writers with multiple features in The Best American Sports Writing of the Century.
Nack also has a feature in that collection from his unique perspective as the author of Secretariat: The Making of a Champion. Nack wrote the seminal horse racing book during his time as the Turf writer for Newsday. He later wrote about the sport in 23 years at Sports Illustrated and has been a regular contributor for ESPN.com and GQ. He is a nine-time Eclipse Award winner.
Christine collected two Eclipse Awards as the long-time Turf writer for the Los Angeles Times and also was part of the Times team that earned a Pulitzer Prize for coverage of an earthquake. He now writes features for Daily Racing Form.
Eng is the racing columnist and handicapper for the Las Vegas Review-Journal and has written gaming columns for Daily Racing Form. He previously served as public relations director at Santa Anita Park, Turfway Park and Arlington Park and was a researcher and writer for ABC Sports' coverage of the Triple Crown.
A full description of the Stanley Bergstein Award is available here. Writing entries can be submitted to Jeff Lowe at jeff@teamvalor.com. (Team Valor)
« Return to News