« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

KY Horse Racing Authority now Commission

July 03, 2008

« Return to News
Kentucky\'s racing commission has been reorganized once again, this time through an executive order signed by Governor Steve Beshear on Thursday that also changed the name of the office from the Kentucky Horse Racing Authority to the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission (KHRC).
Several of the “new” members already had been appointed to fill expired terms. Among them are Standardbred breeder Alan J. Leavitt of Walnut Hall Ltd. and chairman Robert M. Beck, a former attorney for the Lexington Trots Breeders Association, the previous owner/operator of The Red Mile.
The only holdovers from the KHRA, established when Republican Ernie Fletcher became governor four years ago, are Tom Ludt and Thomas Gaines, who will serve on the new KHRC. Along with Leavitt, Beck, Ludt and Gaines, members of the KHRC are Tracy Farmer, vice chairman; Edward S. Bonnie; Francis Thomas Conway; John T. Ward Jr.; Frank L. Jones Jr.; Burr James Travis II; Michael Anthony Pitino, the son of University of Louisville basketball coach Rick Pitino; Jerry L. Yon; Elizabeth “Betsy” Stone Lavin; Dr. Foster Harold Northrop; and Wade Houston.
\"Kentucky’s signature industry is in crisis and immediate, aggressive action is necessary to preserve its integrity,” Beshear said in a statement. “The actions I have taken reflect my continued commitment to strengthening horse racing in the commonwealth.”

The KHRC includes the 15 appointees and the secretaries of the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet, Public Protection Cabinet, and Economic Development Cabinet, who serve as ex-officio members.

« Return to News