« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Michigan honors best; 6 new Hall of Famers

January 22, 2011

« Return to News
The Michigan Harness Horsemen's Association (MHHA) held its annual awards banquet Saturday night in Flint, and included among the honorees were the newest inductees into the state's Harness Racing Hall of Fame.
The newest Hall of Famers include Tom Harmer, Sam Johnson and John Putnam. Also inducted were the top racehorses Informant and Rair Earth, and Platinum Card, whose progeny includes the award-winning Admiral's Express.
Here is a list of the MHHA honorees:
Dan Rathka Memorial Award: Joe Casagranda
Breeder of the Year: Darwin and Ann Shaver
Owner of the Year: Darwin and Ann Shaver
Driver of the Year: Eric Carlson
Trainer of the Year (less than 100 starts): Ed McMurtrie
Trainer of the Year (more than 100 starts): Kelly Goodwin/Mike Watson
Appreciation Award: Pat and Matt Currie
Amateur Driver: Mike Mitchell
Service Award: Barb Benton, Sharon Permenter
Rising Star: Kody Massey
Caretakers of the Year: Sarah Goodwin, Kathy St. John
Headliner of the Year: Modern Connection
Older Trotter of the Year: Home Stretch
Older Pacer of the Year: Armbro Billow
« Return to News