« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

New officers for NY Harness Horse Breeders

December 02, 2014

« Return to News

With the onset of a New Year comes a new administration group for the organization that represents the many Standardbred Breeders in the Empire State. The Harness Horse Breeders of New York State (HHBNYS) has announced that Noelle Duspiva was elected the new president, Ken Jacobs the new vice-president, and Jean Brown the new secretary by a vote of the board of directors. Anne Zweig was re-elected as treasurer.

Noelle Duspiva has been the farm manager at Winbak Farm in Walden, NY, since 2010. After graduating from Morrisville College with a bachelor's degree in Equine Science and Management, Ms. Duspiva started her career at Winbak as an intern before being promoted to assistant farm manager in 2004. Ms. Duspiva enjoys horseback riding and who has also competed in the racing-under-saddle series (RUS) in 2011. She had been serving as HHBNYS's secretary.
Jacobs is the founder and owner of KJ Electric, which is headquartered in Syracuse, NY. He has been a standardbred owner and breeder in New York State since 1985. His horse's performances have always been a factor both in the New York Sire Stakes and on the Grand Circuit. A short list of his top performers include Lizbet Kash, Kenneth J, He's Gorgeous and Heston Blue Chip, who is standing his first season in New York next year. Jacobs had previously served as a board member.
Jean Brown has been employed by Blue Chip Farms LLC in Wallkill, NY since 2000 and made the VP and General Manager at Blue Chip Farms in 2014. A lifelong devotee of the sport, Ms. Brown lived on Castleton Farm as a child before her family moved to New York so her father, the late Hall of Famer Bill Brown, could take the position of head trainer of Blue Chip Farm. Ms. Brown is a curr member of the Zweig Committee. Brown had previously served as a board member.

Here is the complete list of Board members for 2015:

Executive Committee
Noelle Duspiva, President
Ken Jacobs, Vice President
Jean Brown, Secretary
Anne Zweig, Treasurer
Board of Directors
Peter Arrigenna
Robert Brooks
Wanda Polisseni
Jeff Gural
Dan Henry
David Kane
Larry Sautter, DVM
Erin Shantel
Anne Zweig (Honorary Director)
« Return to News