« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Ohio continues to announce divisional honors

January 14, 2021

« Return to News
For the second year in a row, Sectionline Bigry has been named the top aged pacer in the state of Ohio. 
Sectionline Bigry, the son of Pet Rock out of Aquatic Yankee, won eight of 19 races for owner Harold Lee Bauder and trainer Steve Bauder earning $181,000 in 2020.
The highlights of the year were winning the Ohio Sires Stakes Aged Pacing Championship at Hollywood Gaming Dayton Raceway and the Gene Riegle Memorial Open Pace at the Great Darke County Fair.
Sectionline Bigry was bred by Bauder of Delaware, Ohio, Michael Dixon of Hilliard, Ohio, and Harold L. Bauder of Delaware, Ohio. 
“It’s a privilege to win this award two years in a row,” said Bauder.  “It puts Bigry in the company of Dancin Yankee a three-time winner.  He has big shoes to fill to try and win three in a row.”
Penpaperpaige had a September to remember, winning the Ohio Sires Stakes final and the Ohio Breeders Championship on her way to being named the 2020 Ohio 3-Year-Old Pacing Filly of the Year.
Penpaperpaige, the daughter of Pet Rock out of Park Lane Paige won four of her 12 starts, hitting the board nine times winning $250,080 for trainer Jeff Smith and owner Shirley Le Vin. 
As a 2 year old, Penpaperpaige won the Buckeye Stallion Series final. In her 3-year-old season, she jumped ranks to the Ohio Sire Stakes and was a champion again. She won the $300,000 OSS Final at Eldorado Scioto Downs and then won the OBC at the Delaware County Fairgrounds.
Smith credits his son Tyler for much of the horse’s success.  “Tyler has done an excellent job driving her.  He deserves all the credit.  If it weren’t for him getting her around the track, she wouldn’t be where she is,” said Smith. 
The Ohio Harness Horsemen’s Association (OHHA) has been announcing the names of its 2020 award winners on a daily basis this month and will formally honor them in a live Facebook broadcast on the OHHA page on Saturday night, beginning at 7 pm. The following links contain the credentials of other award winners:
« Return to News