« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Ouellete looks for Damsel win with DGs Tinkerbell

March 10, 2012

« Return to News
When driver Luc Ouellette lines up behind the gate on Saturday evening at Woodbine Racetrack in the $100,000 Damsel Pacing Series final, he knows that his charge, D Gs Tinkerbell, will give him every chance of finding the winner's circle.
The daughter of Cambest has been very consistent in 2012 with a record of 4-2-2 from eight starts, all with Ouellette in the sulky.
"She's been racing really well all year,” said the veteran reinsman "She was a latecomer because it took her a little while to figure it out. Recently, she's been right on her game.”
Ouellette also believes that a minor equipment change has played a key roll in her success.
"We decided to change the bridle on her,” he explained. "We put a hood with cups on her and she's a little more aggressive this way and I like her better. She can leave the gate a little stronger and I like that because, as everyone knows, horses are usually better when they are near the front at Woodbine.”
Owned by Daniel Surprenant and Guylaine Fortin and trained by Richard Moreau, D Gs Tinkerball has amassed an impressive $96,000 this season, which includes a victory in the Blizzard Pacing Series final.
"She has a terrific desire to do well,” Ouellette noted. "She wants to please you, she wants to achieve and do well. What more can you ask in a horse?”
Ouellette hopes D Gs Tinkerbell, who won the second leg of the Damsel in a career-best clocking of 1:52.2, can continue her winning ways in the rich final.
"I think it's wide open,” he offered. "I like our chances because you cannot say that there are two or three horses in the race that she can't beat. Also, we have been given post four. That certainly doesn't hurt.”
The $100,000 Damsel Pacing Series final will line up as follows:
1. Synergy Seelster – D. McNair
2. Three Charms – C. Christoforou
3. Oceans Motion – J. Jamieson
4. D Gs Tinkerbell – L. Ouellette
5. Bee Fullof Steinam – P. MacDonell
6. Jolting Kate – S. Zeron
7. Jamaica Hanover – R. Zeron
8. Miss Sand Creek – R. Waples
9. Rock For Glory – J. Moiseyev
10. Ole Miss – B. Davis Jr.
« Return to News