« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Perfect Storm tabbed Courageous Lady favorite

October 13, 2020

« Return to News

The $120,000 Courageous Lady goes postward Saturday night at MGM Northfield Park. The Grand Circuit race is an open event for North America’s top 3-year-old filly pacers and has attracted a very competitive slate of foes vying to become this year’s champion. The race highlights an impressive card offering over $780,000 in purses.

Perfect Storm will start from post three and has been installed as the 3-1 lukewarm favorite. The Robert McIntosh trainee has been a solid player in this year’s sophomore pacing filly stakes scene and that has earnings of six figures this season. David Miller has been given the driving assignment.

The morning line second choice, Dance Club, has drawn the rail for trainer Ron Burke. She enters off two consecutive victories, including the $30,000 Liberty Bell at Harrah’s Philadelphia.  Chris Page has been named to pilot.

Burke and Brian Brown each have entered two fillies in Saturday’s featured event. Burke will also start Drama Act, the 9-2 third-choice contender from post 8 with Matt Kakaley. Brown will harness Pettycoat Business, the lone supplement to this year’s Courageous Lady, a 6-1 shot from post 6 with Dexter Dunn driving, and Blazin Grace, a 15-1 longshot from the seven hole. 

Below is the complete 2020 $120,000 Courageous Lady field:

PP       Horse                          Trainer                       Driver                         Morning Line
1          Dance Club                 Ron Burke                   Chris Page                   7-2
2          Keystone Eureka         Ryan Miller                 Aaron Merriman          6-1
3          Perfect Storm              Robert McIntosh         David Miller                3-1
4          Ellagator                      Chris Mc Guire           Ronnie Wrenn Jr.        20-1
5          JK Finendandy           Jennifer Bongiorno     Joe Bongiorno             10-1
6          Pettycoat Business      Brian Brown               Dexter Dunn               6-1
7          Blazin Grace               Brian Brown               TBA                            15-1

8          Drama Act                  Ron Burke                   Matt Kakaley              9-2

*Final drivers are due 9 p.m. on Tuesday (Oct. 13).

This year’s Courageous Lady has been slated as Race 12 on a 16-race program.  A $10,000 guaranteed Pick-4 pool has been added to the night. The guaranteed Pick 4 will begin in race 11.

The undercard will feature eight $75,000 Ohio Sires Stakes consolations and Northfield’s annual Lady Drivers Challenge featuring all female drivers. (Northfield Park)

« Return to News