« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

SOA of NY holds annual meeting

December 05, 2016

« Return to News
On Saturday, Dec. 3, the Standardbred Owners Association of New York, the horsemen's association representing the more than 1,000 owners, trainers and drivers regularly competing at Yonkers Raceway, held its annual membership meeting.
At the meeting, the results of the SOA's 2016 Board of Directors election were certified. In the driver/trainer category, Ray Schnittker and Peter Younger were elected to three year terms. In the owner category, SOA President Joseph Faraldo and Chris Wittstruck were re-elected to three year terms. Additionally, freshman director Tyler Buter joined the Board, elected to a three-year term in the driver category, also in unopposed fashion.
Missing from the meeting was 1st vice president Peter Venaglia who was in Paris to attend the annual international meeting and help enhance and expand our business on the European Continent.
At the meeting, the Board discussed a variety of statutory and administrative goals for the upcoming year as well as what has become somewhat complicated contract negotiating issues. Also discussed was the successful conduct of the International Trot on Oct. 15, as well as the results of the SOA's realized goal of achieving commingled pools with our international simulcasting partners. Subject to approval by the New York State Gaming Commission, the 2017 racing season will commence with a day card on Sunday Jan. 8. Tentative plans for opening day 2017 currently include an Open at $75,000 and down the line inflated purses in appreciation for the support and efforts of those racing at the Hilltop Oval in 2016.
Additionally, the following officers and trustees of the Welfare and Retirement Funds were elected to serve during 2017. They are:
President: Joseph Faraldo
1st Vice President: Peter Venaglia
2nd Vice President: Irv Atherton
3rd Vice President: John Brennan
Treasurer: Irv Atherton
Secretary: John Brennan
Executive Committee:
Joseph Faraldo
Michael Forte
Irv Atherton
Peter Venaglia
Peter Venaglia, Chairman
Joseph Faraldo
Irv Atherton
John Brennan
Jordan Stratton
Henry Gargiulo (1st Alternate)
Ray Schnitter (2nd Alternate)
Chris Wittstruck (3rd Alternate)
« Return to News