« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Tough starting spot for Pastor Stephen in Beal

June 22, 2011

« Return to News

Reigning divisional champion Pastor Stephen, undefeated in three starts this year as a sophomore, drew post eight in Saturday’s inaugural $500,000 Earl Beal Jr. Memorial Trot at Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs. Also in the nine-horse field are I’m The Answer and Dejarmbro, like Pastor Stephen winners of their Beal elims last Saturday, who drew posts one and two, respectively.

While the Jimmy Takter-trained Pastor Stephen is being targeted for the Hambletonian on Aug. 6 at the Meadowlands, the Trond Smedshammer trainees I’m The Answer and Dejarmbro are both not eligible to the trotting classic.

Ron Pierce has again been named to drive Pastor Stephen, whose biggest victory of 2010 came in the William Wellwood Memorial. This year the son of Cantab Hall has won a Pennsylvania Sire Stakes division at The Meadows and an overnight at Pocono, as well as his Beal elimination.

Here is the complete field for the Beal Memorial Trot, which is slated as the 14th race on the Saturday night program:

1 I’m The Answer (Brian Sears)
2 Dejarmbro (Trond Smedshammer)
3 Big Rigs (Tim Tetrick)
4 Opening Night (Tyler Buter)
5 Leader Of The Gang (David Miller)
6 Broad Bahn (George Brennan)
7 Bambino Hall (George Napolitano Jr.)
8 Pastor Stephen (Ron Pierce)
9 Buffalino Hanover (Todd Schadel)
« Return to News