« » »
{{ day.day }} {{ day.day }}

Waples sweeps Don Mills elims

February 01, 2011

« Return to News
Fresh off winning his third O’Brien Award as Canada’s Driver of the Year this past Saturday night, Randy Waples swept both $25,000 eliminations of the Don Mills Stakes tonight at Woodbine.

In the first elimination, Flashback (Mario Baillargeon) took the field to the opening quarter in :27.3, ahead of Lexis DJ (Mark MacDonald) and Adrion Dream (Per Henriksen).

Flashback would continue to lead his rivals past the half in :58 and three-quarters in 1:28.2. Winmecredit (Roger Mayotte) elected to pull first over on the tempo-setter with Go Go Red Marty (Mike Saftic) tracking him. Victom AS (Randy Waples) was sitting third over, four-lengths from the lead.

As the field turned for home, Flashback was still in the lead but beganto tire late in the mile as Victom AS exploded off cover using a :27.3 final quarter to secure the victory in 1:56.4. First over attacker Winmecredit finished second ahead of Flashback.

Trained by John Drennen for Emma Stable, Victom AS scored his sixth career win and increased his lifetime earnings to $77,960. The son of Striking Sahbra paid $6.20 as the bettor’s choice.

Waples would find the winners circle again in the second elimination as Bookem scored the win for trainer David Menary.

The son of Ilooklikemymom left aggressively from post seven and established the early lead ahead of Commander K (Luc Ouellette) and a parked out Perseverando (Per Henriksen) at the quarter in :28.

As Bookem took his rivals past the half in :57.2, Perseverando was still on the outside but began to lose ground which allowed Rudy Rocks (Simon Allard) to go around him and attack Bookem at three-quarters in 1:27.1.

Down the stretch, Bookem was able to fight off Perseverando and held off a late charge from Roush Hanover to score the win in 1:55.4.

With the win, Bookem lifted his career earnings to $81,435 for owners Richard, Gerald and Matthew Latessa. He paid $24.10 for the win.

The $60,000 final will line up as follows:

1) Winmecredit
2) Rudy Rocks
3) Victom AS
4) Bookem
5) Classic Alana
6) Roush Hanover
7) Zeus Lightning
8) Flashback
9) Lexis D J
10) Surclasser
AE) Go Go Red Marty


« Return to News